core history databases
- archivegrid this link opens in a new window
search through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
- european views of the americas: 1493 to 1750 this link opens in a new window
a free archive of indexed publications related to the americas, written in europe before 1750. it includes more than 32,000 index entries of valuable primary source records covering the history of european exploration as well as portrayals of native american peoples.
- govinfo this link opens in a new window
govinfo is a service of the united states government publishing office (gpo), which is a federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.
- gale onefile: world history this link opens in a new window
provided for free by tel. gale onefile: world history provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. the database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- the tennessean (1812-2009) this link opens in a new window
digitized pages of the tennessean (1812-2009) provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles.
- the tennessean (2010-current) this link opens in a new window
full-text articles from the tennessean newspaper. provides nashville and middle tennessee regional coverage. dates of coverage: 2010 to present.
- tennessee encyclopedia of history and culture this link opens in a new window
provided for free by tel. a fully searchable version of the print edition, originally published in 1998. features updates to existing entries, new entries and over 500 additional images, plus audio and video files.
general databases
- dissertations & theses this link opens in a new window
a collection of phd dissertations and master's theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. full text for works added since 1997, and for selected works written prior to 1997.
- gale academic onefile this link opens in a new window
provided for free by tel. peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, covering physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- jstor this link opens in a new window
a collection of academic materials in humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. includes books, images, videos, audio, and selected scholarly journals. (most journal titles do not include the most recent 3-5 years)
